Best of Powell Award

Congratulations to NAWBO Columbus Member, Elizabeth S. Tuttle, M.D., Columbus Wellness Medicine, for her 2018 Best of Powell Award in the Wellness category!

NAWBO Columbus Business Champion Award

Congratulations to Mary McCarthy, winner of this year’s NAWBO Columbus Business Champion Award! Announced this past Thursday at the Chapter’s Annual Meeting, the award recognizes one outstanding person who advocates for the growth and success of women in business. Honorees must support legislative and regulatory efforts, work to increase business and financial opportunities, improve the business climate and be an advocate for women business owners. Overall, the honoree helps to enable women business owners across Central Ohio to achieve their potential.

Mary, Owner and President of YMT Consultants, exemplifies these qualities and many more in advocating for women business owners across Ohio. Over the past several years, Mary has been actively involved in many of the Chapter’s public policy efforts. For example, she was instrumental in the efforts to get approval of the Women's Microbusiness Legislation, HB5. Mary has over 20 years of experience as a business owner and consultant, she is a member of NAWBO's public policy committee and is an advocate for women business owners. In addition to YMT Consultants, Mary is Co-Founder of the Women's Small Business Accelerator (WSBA), helping many women to start and grow their businesses across the Columbus area.  

We would like to congratulate Mary again for winning this year’s Business Champion Award!

Safex, Inc. named Finalist for Corporate Citizenship Awards

Safex, Inc., a respected leader in the industrial hygiene and occupational health and safety industry, has been named a finalist in the small business category in Columbus Business First’s inaugural 2018 Corporate Citizenship Awards. Safex, Inc. was among 160 central Ohio companies that completed a survey quantifying the time and money that each company and their employees donate to area nonprofits. The twelve finalists, including Safex, Inc., will be recognized at a reception on June 21. 

Safex, Inc’s president and owner and NAWBO Columbus Member, Dianne Grote Adams, was also recently honored by her alma mater, Otterbein University, with a special achievement award.

The Special Achievement Award, established in 1966, recognizes excellence and high professional achievement by an individual in his or her field of endeavor. The award is granted to an Otterbein alumnus whose contributions to his or her field have elevated their professional industry at a local or regional level and/or the organization where the recipient works. Grote Adams is among five Otterbein University alumni from across the country who received their awards during the 2018 Otterbein Alumni Awards Soiree on Apr. 21. Otterbein has honored it graduates and their accomplishments for more than 50 years.